Latest ALSCCA News

RallyCross #1 - May 23

The first RallyCross event of the year will be held on May 23rd at Beaver Creek Off-Road park. We hope to see you there!

SCCA Members - $30

Non-members - $40

First-time drivers - $25

Beaver Creek has a $10 entrance fee for non-SCCA members if you are planning to come spectate.

Gates open at 7:30, registration/tech closes at 9:30 and the first car will be off around 10:00.



Solo - May Event

The next event for the ALSCCA Solo Program will be on SUNDAY, MAY 24TH at Oak Mtn Amphitheater.  Please note that the date has been moved up a week.  As usual, the gates will open at 7:00am, Registration will begin around 7:30 and close at 9:15.  The Novice walk-through will be at 9:15 with Driver's Meeting at 9:30.  Hope to see everyone out after a long break since the first event!

ALSCCA at the 2015 Dixie Tour

Eleven ALSCCA members made the trek to Cecil, Georgia last weekend for the first National-level autocross of the year, the Dixie Championship Tour. In the days leading up to the event the weather forecasts were foreboding with an almost certainty of rain on Friday & Saturday. Thankfully the weather improved and the course was dry other than a little rain before the first run group on Saturday. 

The big result from the weekend was John Waight's successful defense of his 2014 CSP title. John co-drove Darryl Engle's Miata and won a tough fight in a six driver CSP field. Darryl brought home a 4th place finish.

Another trophy for an ALSCCA driver was secured by Clay McCool in his G Street SRT4. Clay finished 4th in a 10 driver GS field dominated by Focus STs. Drew Peele, a TVR member with strong ALSCCA ties, co-drove Clay's car to a 3rd place trophy.

The final trophy for an ALSCCA driver went to Jerry Ledford in his STU M3. Jerry finished 4th in a tough 14 driver STU field which included three other ALSCCA members. Rod Hardiman, driving Sam Copeland's 350z, finished 6th, one place out of the trophies after coning away his fastest day one run. Copeland finished 10th and Heath Patterson, Ledford's co-driver, came home 11th.

Jordan Towns competed in Dennis Sparks' new 2015 WRX in D Street. Jordan finished 7th in the 9 driver field and Dennis was 5th.

Rob Arbitelle took his freshly modded Scion FR-S to the extremely talented STX class this year. He may have finished last in the 20 driver field but he showed big improvements both days and drove better than ever.

We had two National Tour rookies make the trip this year. Steve Saunders took his Z06 Corvette and finished 9th of 12 in A Street. Matthew Wright really jumped in the deep end with his SMF Civic. Matthew went into it knowing that running against multiple champion Jinx Jordan and other top tier drivers would be tough, but he enjoyed the trip and said the experience helped show him what he needs to do to improve his ride.


Additional information